VIDEO: Assembly Republicans Swear-In Seven New Members


Assembly Republicans are down, but not defeated.

The conference is down to 43 members — from a high of 51 just a few years ago — but had a spirited swearing-in ceremony for its seven new members yesterday at a hearing room near the state Capitol.

Families joined the new members on stage, and the sound of children could be heard throughout the hourlong event.

Assembly Minority Leader Brian Kolb, R-Canandaigua, said the Republicans are still an important voice in the Democratic-led Assembly, which has 107 members.

“I am proud to welcome our seven new members to Albany and I am confident that they will be strong new voices and supporters on behalf of New York’s hard-working families and businesses,” Kolb said in a statement. “It is a great honor to serve the people of this state and it is our duty as legislators to continue to make New York a better, more affordable place to live today and for future generations.”

The seven new Assembly Republican Members are:
— Joseph Borelli representing the 62nd District, (Richmond County);
— David DiPietro, representing the 147th District, (Erie & Wyoming Counties);
— Andrew Garbarino, representing the 7th District, (Suffolk County);
— Kieran Michael Lalor, representing the 105th District, (Dutchess County);
— Chad Lupinacci, representing the 10th District, (Nassau County);
— Bill Nojay, representing the 133rd District, (Monroe, Livingstong & Steuben Counties), and
— Daniel Stec, representing the 114th District, (Warren, Essex, Washington & Saratoga Counties)

Here’s video of Lalor and Nojay as they address the crowd after their swearing in.


About Author

Comments are closed.